Office Location

Vernon C. Muse Jr., President
785 N President St., Suite A Jackson, MS 39202
Phone: (601) 857-2189



2019 NCAA Baseball Tournament: Super Regionals hosts announced |

Last updated: 06-07-2019

Read original article here

2019 NCAA Baseball Tournament: Super Regionals hosts announced |

INDIANAPOLIS — The eight super-regional hosts were announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The following four super regionals will be played Friday, June 7, Saturday, June 8, and Sunday, June 9 (if necessary). The national seed is indicated before the team name, while updated records through the regionals are in parenthesis.

The following four best-of-three super regionals will be played Saturday, June 8, Sunday, June 9, and Monday, June 10 (if necessary).  

The determination of the Men’s College World Series order of first-round games both Saturday, June 15, and Sunday, June 16, will be announced Monday, June 10. The ESPN family of networks and will release the CWS game dates and times as soon as they are available.

The College World Series begins play Saturday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Super Regional hosts are first determined by seeding. The top-8 seeds from the Top-16 national seeds list are assured home field should they advance from the Regionals round, as long as the site has been approved by the Division I Baseball Committee. If a higher seed has not submitted a proposal, the lower seed will host if its proposal is deemed acceptable.

If a Super Regional is between two equally seeded teams, the committee will review hosting proposals and take into account selection criteria (including quality and availability of facilities, potential revenue and accommodations). For example, last year, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt both won their regionals as No. 2 seeds. The committee selected Vanderbilt. The Commodores had previously swept the Bulldogs during the regular season.

Here were the top 16 national seeds for this year:

The tournament starts with 64 teams, with four teams placed at 16 Regional sites. These are played in double-elimination format. The 16 winners then advance to the Super Regionals, which will be played at eight sites between two teams in a best-of-3 series.

Super Regionals pairings are determined by the initial bracket placement of the teams. For example, if all 16 seeded teams make it through the Regionals, then No. 1 will play No. 16, No. 2 will play No. 15 and No. 3 will play No. 14, etc., down to No. 8 against No. 9. This year, that means the winner of the Los Angeles Regional (No. 1 UCLA hosts) will play the winner of the Corvallis Regional (No. 16 Oregon State hosts). Even if one — or both — of the top-16 seeds fail to win the region, these matchups will remain in place. The winner of the Los Angeles Regional will play the Corvallis Regional, even if UCLA and Oregon State both are eliminated.

Read the rest of this article here

© 2019 , The Advertising Specialty Institute®. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy     Terms of Service    
Loading ...
Product Search: Product Keyword, Category, ASI #, Description, Product #, Supplier Name, Line Name